SC Book Design 1h

In 1992 I was proud to publish Steve Cook‘s first book Point Blank. He’d lectured for The Sheffield Circle and I’d been very impressed by his direct, commercial approach, so I was delighted when he agreed to entrust us with the publication of his first volume of beautifully routined effects.

A modest and self-effacing character, Steve’s reputation at the time was limited to a relatively small group of magicians who had experienced his clear and entertaining approach to magic. Since then, of course, his fame has spread. He has received worldwide acclaim for his effects, such as Symbol, Volition, The Stealth Case, ID, Die-Abolical and many more.

In 2008 I was pleased to help with the editing and design of his book Legend: An Anecdotal Tribute to Ken Brooke, which gave me the opportunity again to appreciate his love for and dedication to the craft of magic and the performers and innovators he respected.

Steve has been a regular visitor to The Magick Lounge over the years, visits which are always keenly anticipated by the ‘Loungers’ who enjoy his entertaining (and mystifying) performances and the wide-reaching magical discussions which follow.

In 2018 Steve approached me to work on the final editing and technical production of Fake Genius. As soon as I received the initial manuscript I knew he had a winner on his hands. I also knew he shared my concern for attention to detail and the highest possible standards in magical publishing. Steve Haresign of Haresign Press was to handle print production; I’ve always been impressed by his work and I was sure that together we could produce a book that the discerning magician would be proud to own.

I believe we have. Fake Genius is now available, and the reviews have been amazing and very gratifying. Copies are now available from Magick.

“Steve Cook IS a genius! WOW! I’m half-way through… I’ll say it again, WOW! I was correct, these are strong, workable effects. Grab this book, it’s going to be a classic.”
Steve Dela

Note that Steve’s book is limited to 500 copies worldwide. It contains twenty real-world worker effects, plus fascinating and invaluable essays, tips and advice on a range of magical topics.

“I rarely read a magic/mentalism book from cover to cover. I can count on one hand how many I have. Until now. Steve Cook may be a ‘Fake Genius’ but his book is full of excellent effects. There is one particular effect, that in my opinion, is worth the price of the book. However, I am not going to tell you what it is. Find out for yourself.” Mike Sullivan