I had a call earlier from someone who’d seen my previous post about Explaindio, asking if it was really as easy as I said it was, and what could you do with it. So I took a little time out this evening to make a short test video.

Please note that this is not intended as a serious promotional offering. I knocked it out in about 20 minutes as a way of getting to know the program and seeing what it can do. So I’ve mixed static and hand-written text, video, cartoon characters, still images, etc.

The result won’t win any prizes. (If I was going to do it properly I’d keep some of the text on the screen longer so even kids’ entertainers would have time to read it, for example.) But it does show what you can do using the standard ‘slides’ and animations that come with the pack.

It is a very simple, menu-led program. You add ‘slides’ to the simple timeline and just add your own text and pics. There are a couple of teaching videos on the Explaindio website, but you don’t really need then to start using the program. Just pitch in and click a few buttons like I did…

But keep it simpler; don’t use all the facilities in one video!

Confession: Although the program does come with some royalty-free music I added my own instead. But you probably guessed that.

